inner_futurestudents

Academic Advising

Academic Advising engages, challenges, and supports a diverse student population to assist students in achieving their educational goals by:

  • Explaining Placement Test Results and Developmental Placement
  • Teaching students how to read & understand their Degree Requirements
  • Guiding students in choosing classes that will meet the academic requirements of his/her degree
  • Teaching the student how to read the college catalog
  • Accessing Web Advisor through Portal
  • Providing information about academic deadlines
  • Explaining College Policies and Procedures
  • Offering referrals to campus resources

The Academic Advising Center operates as a walk-in center.

Office Hours/Fall and Spring: based on availability.

Office Hours/Winter and Summer:

  • Monday, Thursday, and Friday: 8:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday and Wednesday: 8:00am – 7:00pm

NOTES:

  1. During peak registration time students should arrive at least 1.5 hours before Center for Student Success closes.
  2. Last student intake:
    – Monday and Thursday: 3:30 P.M.
    – Tuesday and Wednesday: 5:30 P.M.
    – Friday: 3:00 P.M.

 

Contact Information:

  • Phone: (201)612-5480
  • E-mail: aacenter@bergen.edu
  • Address:
    400 Paramus Road
    Pitkin Education Building, Room A118
    Center for Student Success
    Paramus, NJ 07652

 

Reference Materials and Handout:

Cohort Advising Referrals and Contact Information:

FACULTY ADVISORS FOR HUMANITIES ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

DepartmentFaculty AdvisorOfficeEmailAdvising Hours

HUMANITIES
Communication Gina Costa L-336, Pitkin Building gcosta@bergen.edu Tuesday: 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm.
Thursday: 12:30 pm-1:30 pm.
English Department Kelley Keane L-334, Pitkin Building kkeane@bergen.edu
Phone: (201)612-2266
By appointment.
History & Geography Kil J. Yi L-306, Library kyi@bergen.edu By appointment
Journalism Lew Wheaton W-212, West Hall lwheaton@bergen.edu.
Phone:(201)612-5314.
By appointment.
Literature Dr. Jessica Datema L-3330, Pitkin Building jdatema@bergen.edu Thursday, 1:30 am-1:45 pm.
Philosophy & Religion Dr. Michael Redmond Room S-334 mredmond@bergen.edu Tuesday: 3:15 pm- 4:15 pm.
Wednesday: 5 pm – 6 pm.
Thursday: 3:15 pm – 4:15 pm.
Social Sciences
Economics
Takvor Mutafoglu A-234A, Pitkin Building tmutafoglu@bergen.edu By appointment.
World Languages Laura Ruderman L-327, Pitkin Building lruderman@bergen.edu By appointment.
FACULTY ADVISORS FOR BUSINESS, ARTS, AND SOCIAL SCIENCES ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

>

BUSINESS, ARTS, AND SOCIAL SCIENCES
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Accounting Mary Ryan B-207, Pitkin Building mryan@bergen.edu
Phone(201)493-3517
By appointment.
Cinema Studies Fine Arts Gregg Biermann Room 313, West Hall gbiermann@bergen.edu Monday: 1:00 pm – 1:30 pm.
Tuesday: 1:30pm – 3:30 pm. Thursday: 1:00 pm -1:30 pm.
Education Melissa Krieger 139 Ender Hall mkrieger@bergen.edu Monday & Wednesday, 11:00 am -12:00 pm & 2:00 pm -3:00 pm
Benicia D’sa 139 Ender Hall bdsa@bergen.edu Monday, 12:30 pm -1:30pm & 3:00 pm – 3:50pm;
Tuesdays, 9:15 am -1:30 pm & 5:00pm – 6:20pm, Wednesday: 12:30 pm -1:30 pm
Criminal Justice/Homeland Security David Kramer ADV-001-040 dkramer@bergen.edu online Advising for Criminal Justice and Homeland Security.
Micheline Farhat 406LY, Meadowlands mfarhat@bergen.edu By appointment.
Legal Studies Louis Cirrilla B-206, Pitkin Building lcirrilla@bergen.edu By appointment.
Lawrence Joel B-206, Pitkin Building ljoel@bergen.edu By appointment.
Lisa Mayer B-206, Pitkin Building lmayer@bergen.edu By appointment.
Music Dr. Andrew Krikun 223 West Hall akrikun@bergen.edu Monday: 11:00 am-12:00 pm.
Wednesday: 12:30 pm–1:30 pm.
Thursdays: 3:15 pm – 6 pm.
Or by appointment.
Sociology Mark Kassop L-327, Pitkin Building mkassop@bergen.edu Wednesdays 10:45 am – 11:35 am Or By appointment
Theatre Jim Bumgardner 225 West Hall jbumgardner@bergen.edu by Apointment
Mary Clifford 225 West Hall mclifford@bergen.edu by Apointment
Jared Saltzman 225 West Hall jsaltzman@bergen.edu by Apointment
Kaye DeMetz 225 West Hall kdemetz@bergen.edu by Apointment
Fashion Design Mary Bays mbays@bergen.edu By Appointment.
Fine Arts/Visual Arts Fariba Hajamadi S-258 Pitkin Building fhajamadi@bergen.edu Mon/Tue/Thursday. By appointment
Graphic Design/Visual Arts Claire McConaughy 314 West Hall cmcconaughy@bergen.edu By Appointment
Visual and Performing Arts Patrice Devincentis 225 West Hall pdevincentis@bergen.edu by appointment
FACULTY ADVISORS FOR MATHEMATICS, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY (STEM) ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
MATHEMATICS, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Aviation Administration/Aircraft Operations William Klappert TEC-106, Technology Building wklappert@bergen.edu Tuesday & Thursday,10:30 am-12:00 pm
Drafting and Design Vincent Benanti TEC-102A, Technology Building vbenanti@bergen.edu By appointment.
Information Technology Mina Kousoulis S-351 Pitkin Building mkousoulis@bergen.edu Tuesday & Thursday,12:00 pm-2:00 pm
Mathematics Ruth Feigenbaum B-111A, Pitkin Building rfeigenbaum@bergen.edu By appointment.
Sara Mastellone B-108B, Pitkin Building smastellone@bergen.edu Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:00 am – 12:00 pm.
Mathematics
Science
Fred Marton S-325, Pitkin Building fmarton@bergen.edu Tuesday: 1:30 pm – 2:30 pm.
Wednesday: 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm.
Thursday: 12:00 pm-2:00 pm.
FACULTY ADVISORS FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
HEALTH PROFESSIONS
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Dental Hygiene Denise Avrutik HP-11, Health Professions Building davrutik@bergen.edu Monday, 7:30 am–8:15 am & 12:15 pm–12:45 pm;
Tuesday, 12:00 pm–12:30 pm;
Wednesday, 7:30 am–8:15 am & 12:15 pm–12:45 pm
Joanna Campbell S-333, Pitkin Building jcampbell@bergen.edu By appointment.
Tomira Rozar HP-108, Health Professions Building trozar@bergen.edu Monday: 8:00 am – 8:30 am.
Monday: 10:30 am – 10:00 pm.
Or by appointment.
Diagnostic Medical Sonography Christine Henkel HP-235, Health Professions Building chenkel@bergen.edu By appointment.
Nursing JoAnne Diamantidis B-308, Pitkin Building jdiamantidis@bergen.edu Tuesday,12:00 pm- 4:00 pm
Paramedic Science Jennifer McCarthy P-111E, Lyndhurst Campus jmccarthy@bergen.edu

Phone. (201)301-1592

By appointment.
Radiography Joseph Mamatz HP-313, Health Professions Building jmamatz@bergen.edu Wednesday: 8:00 pm-3:00 pm.
Thursday: 8:00 am – 3 pm.
Respiratory Care Kelly Horgan S-107, Pitkin Building khorgan@bergen.edu Wednesday,12:00 pm-2:00 pm
Veterinary Technology Lisa Picht VET-112, Veterinary Technology Building lpicht@bergen.edu
Phone:(201)493-3765.
By appointment.
Wellness and Exercise Science Elaine Mostow G-211, Pitkin Building emostow@bergen.edu Monday, 8:30 am – 9:30 pm
Bernard Fuersich G-204, Pitkin Building bfuersich@bergen.edu Monday-Thursday, 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
ADVISING GROUP SESSIONS
GROUP SESSIONS
Department Group Session Dates Room
Health Professions Information Sessions (for admissions into Health Professions Programs)
  • October 11th, 5:00 pm-7: pm;
  • November 15th, 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm;
  • December 13th, 5:00 pm-7:00 pm.
TEC-128, Technology Building
Information Technology, Game Programming & Testing/Medical Informatics For questions and updates please contact: inf@bergen.edu A-118, Advising Center/Pitkin Building
Accounting For questions & updates, please contact cmayer@bergen.edu or fmcgovern@bergen.edu A-118, Advising Center/Pitkin Building
STEM Program (Science, Technology, Mathematics) For questions & updates, please contact amanzueta1@bergen.edu or ldeabreu@bergen.edu A-118, Advising Center/Pitkin Building