inner_futurestudents

Academic Advising

Academic Advising engages, challenges, and supports a diverse student population to assist students in achieving their educational goals by:

  • Explaining Placement Test Results and Developmental Placement
  • Teaching students how to read & understand their Degree Requirements
  • Guiding students in choosing classes that will meet the academic requirements of his/her degree
  • Teaching the student how to read the college catalog
  • Accessing Web Advisor through Portal
  • Providing information about academic deadlines
  • Explaining College Policies and Procedures
  • Offering referrals to campus resources

The Academic Advising Center operates as a walk-in center.

Office Hours/Fall and Spring: based on availability.

Office Hours/Summer and Winter:

  • Monday and Friday: 8:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: 8:00am – 7:00pm

NOTES:

  1. During peak registration time students should arrive at least 1.5 hours before Center for Student Success closes.
  2. Last student intake:
    – Monday: 3:30 P.M.
    – Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: 5:30 P.M.
    – Friday: 3:00 P.M.


Contact Information:

  • Phone: (201)612-5480
  • E-mail: aacenter@bergen.edu
  • Address:
    400 Paramus Road
    Pitkin Education Building, Room A118
    Center for Student Success
    Paramus, NJ 07652

Reference Materials and Handout:

 

Cohort Advising Referrals and Contact Information:

FACULTY ADVISORS FOR HUMANITIES ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
HUMANITIES
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Communication Gina Costa L-336, Pitkin Building gcosta@bergen.edu Tuesday & Thursday,12:30 pm-1:30 pm
English Department Dr. Geoffrey J. Sadock L-328, Pitkin Building gsadock@bergen.edu Tuesday,10:45 am – 11:45 am; Thursday, 9:30 am-11:00 am; Friday, by appointment.
History & Geography Kil J. Yi L-306, Library kyi@bergen.edu By apointment
Philosophy & Religion Dr. Michael Redmond E-131, Ender Hall mredmond@bergen.edu By appointment.
Literature Dr. Jessica Datema L-3330, Pitkin Building jdatema@bergen.edu Thursday, 1:30 am-1:45 pm
World Languages Laura Ruderman L-327, Pitkin Building lruderman@bergen.edu By appointment.
FACULTY ADVISORS FOR BUSINESS, ARTS, AND SOCIAL SCIENCES ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
BUSINESS, ARTS, AND SOCIAL SCIENCES
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Cinema Studies Fine Arts Greg Biermann 313 West Hall gbiermann@bergen.edu Monday, 1:00 pm – 1:30 pm;Wednesday,4:30pm -5:45 pm, Thursday, 4:45 pm – 6:00 pm
Education Melissa Krieger 139 Ender Hall mkrieger@bergen.edu Monday & Wednesday, 11:00 am -12:00 pm & 2:00 pm -3:00 pm
Benicia D’sa 139 Ender Hall mkrieger@bergen.edu Monday, 12:30 pm -1:30pm & 3:00 pm – 3:50pm;Tuesdays, 9:15 am -1:30 pm & 5:00pm – 6:20pm, Wednesday, 12:30 pm -1:30 pm
Criminal Justice/Homeland Security Michael O’Donovan A334 Pitkin Building modonovan@bergen.edu Mon/Wed/Thur 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Or by appointment
Legal Studies Louis Cirrilla B-206, Pitkin Building lcirrilla@bergen.edu By appointment.
Lawrence Joel B-206, Pitkin Building ljoel@bergen.edu By appointment.
Lisa Mayer B-206, Pitkin Building lmayer@bergen.edu By appointment.
Music Dr. Andrew Krikun 223 West Hall akrikun@bergen.edu Mon/Tues/Thur, 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm Or by appointment
Sociology Mark Kassop L-327, Pitkin Building mkassop@bergen.edu Wednesdays 10:45 am – 11:35 am Or By appointment
Theatre Jim Bumgardner 225 West Hall jbumgardner@bergen.edu by Apointment
Mary Clifford 225 West Hall mclifford@bergen.edu by Apointment
Jared Saltzman 225 West Hall jsaltzman@bergen.edu by Apointment
Kaye DeMetz 225 West Hall kdemetz@bergen.edu by Apointment
Visual and Performing Arts Patrice Devincentis 225 West Hall pdevincentis@bergen.edu by appointment
Graphic Design/Visual Arts Claire McConaughy 314 West Hall cmcconaughy@bergen.edu By Appointment
Fine Arts/Visual Arts Fariba Hajamadi S-258 Pitkin Building fhajamadi@bergen.edu Mon/Tue/Thursday. By appointment
FACULTY ADVISORS FOR MATHEMATICS, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY (STEM) ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
MATHEMATICS, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Aviation Administration/Aircraft Operations William Klappert TEC-106, Technology Building wklappert@bergen.edu Tuesday & Thursday,10:30 am-12:00 pm
Drafting and Design Vincent Benanti TEC-102A, Technology Building vbenanti@bergen.edu By appointment.
Information Technology Mina Kousoulis S-351 Pitkin Building mkousoulis@bergen.edu Tuesday & Thursday,12:00 pm-2:00 pm
FACULTY ADVISORS FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
HEALTH PROFESSIONS
Department Faculty Advisor Office Email Advising Hours
Dental Hygiene Denise Avrutik B-313, Pitkin Building davrutik@bergen.edu Monday, 7:30 am–8:15 am & 12:15 pm–12:45 pm;
Tuesday, 12:00 pm–12:30 pm;
Wednesday, 7:30 am–8:15 am & 12:15 pm–12:45 pm
Linda Hall B-313, Pitkin Building lhall@bergen.edu By appointment.
Diagnostic Medical Sonography Geralyn Collins Eisler S-220A, Pitkin Building gcollins@bergen.edu Monday, 12:00 pm – 1:00pm;
Tuesday, 2:00 pm -3:00 pm or by appointment
Nursing JoAnne Diamantidis B-308, Pitkin Building jdiamantidis@bergen.edu Tuesday,12:00 pm- 4:00 pm
Paramedic Science Jennifer McCarthy P-111E, Lyndhurst Campus jmccarthy@bergen.edu By appointment.
Respiratory Care Kelly Horgan S-107, Pitkin Building khorgan@bergen.edu Wednesday,12:00 pm-2:00 pm
Wellness and Exercise Science Elaine Mostow G-211, Pitkin Building emostow@bergen.edu Monday, 8:30 am – 9:30 pm
Bernard Fuersich G-204, Pitkin Building bfuersich@bergen.edu Monday-Thursday, 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
ADVISING GROUP SESSIONS
GROUP SESSIONS
Department Group Session Dates Room
Health Professions Information Sessions (for admissions into Health Professions Programs)
  • October 11th, 5:00 pm-7: pm;
  • November 15th, 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm;
  • December 13th, 5:00 pm-7:00 pm.
TEC-128, Technology Building
Information Technology, Game Programming & Testing/Medical Informatics For questions and updates please contact: inf@bergen.edu A-118, Advising Center/Pitkin Building
Accounting For questions & updates, please contact cmayer@bergen.edu or fmcgovern@bergen.edu A-118, Advising Center/Pitkin Building
STEM Program (Science, Technology, Mathematics) For questions & updates, please contact amanzueta1@bergen.edu or ldeabreu@bergen.edu A-118, Advising Center/Pitkin Building