When and how can I register under the Tuition Waiver Registration program?

All tuition waiver-related registration takes place the day before the start of class and is based on course and seat availability. Students who use a Waiver should view the availability of courses in the system prior to registering.

Tuition Waiver Registration Dates

Special Registration Dates are included in the the Registration and Academic Calendars:

Detailed information about registration calendar and forms can be viewed by visiting www.bergen.edu/regcal

Tuition Waiver Form

Tuition Waiver Eligibility Checklist

On the day of special/tuition waiver registration, please ascertain that the course you want to register for is being offered and still has available seats. The course catalog is accessible at https://selfservice.bergen.edu/Student/Student/Courses

Plan ahead. Prior to the tuition waiver registration date, we recommend you review the tuition waiver eligibility requirements information and gather all support/verification documentation pertinent to your tuition waiver program classification/category/criteria:

Senior Citizen

  • Bergen County residents who have reached their 65th birthday prior to the first day of classes are eligible for the Tuition Waiver
  • Seniors must present valid proof of age and residency to the Bursar’s Office.
  • Senior Citizens may register on or after the Tuition Waiver Registration Day.
  • Tuition and Technology Fees are covered

Unemployment Tuition Waiver

  • Students currently receiving unemployment benefits may be eligible for tuition waiver
  • Students applying for tuition waiver must have filed a 2020-2021 FAFSA application. Visit How and When to Apply for Financial Aid Web page for details.
  • Student must present an Unemployment Waiver form from the Department of Labor dated within 30 days of registration for current semester.
  • Students who use a Waiver should view the availability of courses in the system prior to registering.
  • Tuition is covered by the tuition waiver
  • Fees are the responsibility of the student. Please check student portal for updated registration statement
  • Students may register on or after the Tuition Waiver Registration Date.

National Guard

  • Register anytime during registration period.
  • Enrollment is on a seat space available basis
  • Tuition covered up to 16 credits. Fees are not covered – Statement will inform registrant of charges – Student may adjust registration without financial penalty within the Add/Drop dates.
  • Student must exhaust eligibility for financial aid and present valid certification from their unit when registering.
  • Eligibility Requirements: Degree-Seeking Bergen County residents who are active members of the New Jersey National Guard or a child or spouse of such member who was killed in the performance of duties while on active duty with the NJ National Guard.

Volunteer Fire, First Aid & Rescue Squad Members & Families

  • New Jersey residents who are active members in good standing of a volunteer fire company, first aid or rescue squad, and their dependent children and spouse
  • Volunteer Tuition Credit Program documentation must be completed in its entirety at time of registering
  • Tuition credit of up to $600 per year, but not to exceed $2400 over a four year period.
  • All fees and tuition in excess of tuition credit are the responsibility of the student
  • Please check student portal for updated registration statement
  • Students may register on or after the Tuition Waiver Registration Date

Bergen County Employee

  • Bergen County Employees must present a letter from their employer.
  • Bergen County Employees are eligible for up to 6 credits.
  • Fees are the responsibility of the student. Please check student portal for updated registration statement.
  • Students who use a Waiver should view the availability of courses in the system prior to registering
  • Students may register on or after the Tuition Waiver Registration Date.
Feedback